Home Contact and Directions National CASA FAQ
  
   Piedmont CASA You can change a child's story  
  
Main Menu


In light of the coronavirus pandemic
ONLINE INFORMATION SESSIONS
To register for a Zoom Information Session,
click on the date and time you prefer:
(You will not have to download the Zoom app to attend the meeting.)

Thursday, June 3, at noon
Thursday, June 3, at 6:00 pm
Thursday, July 1, at noon
Thursday, July 1, at 6:00 pm
Thursday, August 5, at noon
Thursday, August 5, at 6:00 pm
Thursday, September 2, at noon
Thursday, September 2, at 6:00 pm
Thursday, September 9, at noon
Thursday, September 9, at 6:00 pm
Thursday, September 16, at noon
Thursday, September 16, at 6:00 pm


Last day to submit applications for Fall Training:

Questions? Call Sue at (434) 971-7515, or send an email

SPRING 2021 TRAINING DATES
13 Day Classes

          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Tuesday, April 13
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Thursday, April 15
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Tuesday, April 20
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Thursday, April 22
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Tuesday, April 27
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Thursday, April 29
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Tuesday, May 4
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Thursday, May 6
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Tuesday, May 11
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Thursday, May 13
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Tuesday, May 18
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Thursday, May 20
          • 9:00 - 12:00 -- Tuesday, May 25

            INDUCTION DATE:
            3:45 - 5:00 p.m. -- Tuesday, June 8



Volunteer Today

"Volunteer to change a child's life and discover that your life is changed as well."


Court Advocate Volunteer Opportunities:
Piedmont CASA is looking for caring, motivated and objective individuals who are committed to helping abused and neglected children. CASA volunteers come from all walks of life, and have a variety of professional, educational and ethnic backgrounds. No special experience is required, but you do need to be 21 years of age or older. Volunteers are selected on the basis of their objectivity, competence and commitment.

A Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) volunteer is a trained citizen who is appointed by a judge to advocate for the best interests of a child in court. Children helped by CASA volunteers include victims of abuse and neglect for whom custodial and home placement decisions are being made by the juvenile court.

A CASA volunteer provides a judge with a carefully researched background of the child to help the court make a sound decision about that child's future. Each case is as unique as the child involved. The CASA volunteer evaluates if it is in the child's best interest to stay with his or her parents or guardians, be placed in foster care, or be freed for permanent adoption. The CASA volunteer makes recommendations to the judge, and follows through on the case until it is permanently resolved.

Other Volunteer Opportunities:
Piedmont CASA is also looking for Office Volunteers to help on an as needed basis to assist with the newsletters and other written publications, and also to help staff CASA information booths at community events. If you are interested in this type of volunteer opportunity, please contact CASA at 971-7515 or at volunteer@pcasa.org.


Change a child's story

Support

Piedmont CASA





Piedmont CASA, 818 East High Street, Charlottesville, VA 22902     434.971.7515     Fax: 434.971.3060

Copyright 2013. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy

Who We Are What We Do Ways to Give Volunteer News & Events Just for CASAs Resources